March in Massachusetts means tournament time, and a chance for high school student-athletes to live out there dreams of becoming a state champion.  The MIAA concluded its 2014 season on March 15 at the DCU Center in Worcester, crowning its state champions.  HEA had a total of 20 of its alumni participate in the MIAA tournament, including 4 that were crowned state champions.  Lets take a look at how each team faired throughout the 2014 MIAA tournament.

Division 1 North:

In the first round Isaiah McLeod, Jakigh Dottin, Daniel Rymer, and Nathaniel Habtom and #5 seed Cambridge Rindge and Latin defeated #12 seed Waltham 67-46.  Jovani Harper and #13 seed Charlestown lost to #4 seed and eventual Division 1 North champion Central Catholic 74-56.

Division 1 South:

In the first round, Ben Murphy and #5 seed Newton North defeated Keyshaad Dixon and #12 seed Braintree 59-57.  Jordan Galloway and #6 Taunton lost to #11 Brookline in an overtime thriller 84-82.  In the quarterfinals Newton North defeated #4 seed Nedham 46-42.  In the semifinals Newton North lost to #1 seed North Quincy.

Division 1 West:

Tyonne Malone, Justin Stewart and undefeated defending Divison 1 champion Putnam earned the #1 seed an a first round bye to the semifinals.  Kevawn Lord and #2 seed West Springfield defeated #7 seed Agawam 65-57.  In the semifinals Putnam defeated #5 seed Leominster 65-47, while West Springfield defeated #3 seed Northampton 59-44.  In the Division 1 West championship, Putnam defeated West Springfield 77-58 to earn its second consecutive Division 1 West championship.

Division 2 North:

In the first round Charles Mitchell, Charlie Mitchell and #1 seed New Mission defeated #16 seed Burlington 48-35.  Sherron Harris and #12 seed Melrose lost to #5 seed Woburn 66-59.  In the quarterfinals New Mission defeated #8 seed Tewksbury 66-52.  In the semifinals New Mission defeated #4 Lynn Classical 70-32.  In the Division 2 North championship, New Mission defeated #2 seed Danvers 61-50.

Division 3 North:

Brendan Hoban and #2 seed Watertown earned a bye in the first round.  Michael Carangelo, Louis Ellis and #5 seed Lynnfield lost to #12 seed Swampscott 65-60.  In the quarterfinals Watertown defeated #10 seed Saugus 79-45.  In the semifinals Watertown defeated #11 seed Bedford 68-50.  In the Division 3 North championship, Watertown defeated #8 seed Stoneham 48-34, to earn the Division 3 North championship.

Division 3 West:

Kendall Baldwin and #2 seed Renaissance earned a bye in the first round.  In the quarterfinals Renaissance defeated #7 seed Monument Mountain 76-60.  In the semifinals Renaissance lost to #3 seed Hoosac 72.67.

Division 4 North:

Marcus Zegarowski, Max Zegarowski and #2 seed Hamilton-Wenham earned a bye in the first round.  In the quarterfinals Hamilton-Wenham defeated #10 seed Bishop Fenwick 61-52.  In the semifinals Hamilton-Wenham lost to #3 seed St. Mary’s Lynn 60-51.

Division 1 State Championship:

In the semifinals, Tyonne Malone, Justin Stewart and West champion Putnam defeated Central champion St. John’s Shrewsbury 77-51.  In the finals Putnam defeated North champion Central Catholic 74-70, to cap off an undefeated season at 25-0, and back-t0-back MIAA Division 1 championships.

Division 2 State Championship:

In the semifinals, Charles Mitchell, Charlie Mitchell and North champion New Mission defeated South champion Milton 71-63.  In the finals New Mission defeated Central champion Concord-Carlisle 53-43 to earn the schools 3rd MIAA championship and a 24-2 overall record.

Division 3 State Championship:

In the semifinals, Brendan Hoban and Watertown lost to South champion Cardinal Spellman in an overtime thriller 51-44.  Cardinal Spellman went on to defeat Central champion Tyngsboro 61-51 to win the 2014 MIAA Division 3 State Championship.  Cardinal Spellman dedicated their season to former Cardinal Spellman star Joey Glynn, who passed away unexpectedly last spring.